BREAKING NEWS: B&B EMPLOYEES GET COLLARED FOR SHOCKING REASON

Both Customer Service Manager Jan Thruston and Planner Rachael Purington have done the unthinkable: they have been “charged with aiding and abetting MDA with the intent of helping area residents with muscular dystrophy.”

MDA Lockup Brochure

When asked about his employees getting lifted for the crime, President Michael Bland states, “I knew that those two had good hearts, I just didn’t have any clue as to how big their hearts really are.”

As some of MDA’s Most Wanted, Rachael and Jan are sentenced to serve time at MDA’s maximum appreciation “jail” site. They will be forced to eat “jailhouse grub” and have their mug shot taken.  Sentencing is for one hour, and bail has been set at $3,000 dollars. To raise money and meet bail, both Jan and Rachael are making phone calls to their family, friends, and colleagues to help them out in their efforts to meet bail (or you could just click here and enter Jan or Rachael’s name on the “Find a Jailbird” page).

These jailbirds, and their complete dedication and care for charitable causes, are helping the Muscular Dystrophy Association raise money for research programs, clinics, summer camps, support groups, medical equipment, educational resources, and advocacy for those in our community with Muscular Dystrophy.

Here’s what these two do-gooders have to say about their upcoming lock-down:

Jan Thrustron

Annoyed behind bars

  1. What got you involved with this initiative?
     I received a call from MDA. They told me that someone (who is in their “witness protection program”) turned me in for having a big heart. The asked if that were true and was I ready to be arrested for the charges.
  2. What are your thoughts about being “locked up?”
    Well, it was a bit of a shock receiving the call during day here at work – but after talking to the caller, we agreed that sometimes you just have to take a few minutes to think about those in need, even though we are busy with work. At first I put the caller off, because I was indeed – busy. But certainly I can take some time to participate. I’m glad I did.
  3. Who would you make your one phone call to?
    When they come to arrest me – 8/22/13 at 11:00, I’ll call my mom, naturally.
  4. How will you deal with the awful jail food?
    Thankfully, I’m not a picky eater. I’m confident I won’t starve.
  5. Do you personally know someone with MD?
    No, I don’t know anyone with MD, but I remember as a youngster watching the Jerry Lewis telethons. We would go around the neighborhood asking neighbors and anyone we saw if they had change so that we could call in a donation.
  6. Do you think you will look good in an orange jumpsuit?
    Ummmmmmmm not sure. As long as it is comfortable, I’ll be ok.
  7. What is the number one motivating factor on why you choose to spend your time with volunteering and donating to various causes?
    Have you seen the picture of the kid I’m sponsoring?

Rachael Purington

Sad behind bars

  1. What got you involved with this initiative?
    Someone submitted my name to MDA claiming “She has a big heart” – little did they know, eh?  The next thing I knew, a very charming and persuasive guy called me at work and convinced me to get locked up – he’s good!
  2. What are your thoughts about being “locked up?”
    Well, I hear the “jail cell” isn’t bad – does have air conditioning – and the food should be good too but that might be the “persuasive guy” working his shtick!
  3. Who would you make your one phone call to?
    If I could find out who submitted my name – that would be my first choice.
  4. How will you deal with the awful jail food?
    I was planning to sneak in a bag of goodies but that will probably get confiscated – especially if I include the file and a knife.
  5. Do you personally know someone with MD? 
    No, I don’t know anyone with muscular dystrophy but I believe this is such a great cause!  I remember how much fun I had at summer camp and hope the kids that get to go to the MDA camp make such great lasting memories too.
  6. Do you think you will look good in an orange jumpsuit? 
    Does anyone look good in an orange jumpsuit?  Well, maybe O.J. Simpson but that would not be for aesthetic reasons.
  7. What is the number one motivating factor on why you choose to spend your time with volunteering and donating to various causes?
    Because it’s important to show people they are cared about – especially during these difficult economic times were funding for so many programs has been slashed!

Let’s hope that this will teach them a lesson that they will never forget!

Leave a Reply

